top of page

Tennessee Business Roundtable Celebrates 40th Anniversary

State business leaders and former Governors mark four decades; seven elected to Board of Directors at Annual Meeting

The Tennessee Business Roundtable (the Roundtable) welcomed business executive leaders from across Tennessee to celebrate the organization’s history as Tennessee’s leading business and executive group.

Former Sen. Lamar Alexander and former Gov. Phil Bredesen spoke at a private member dinner about their collaboration with the Roundtable and how the organization’s members continue to reinforce Tennessee’s business-friendly climate and support its workforce. Sen. Alexander focused on the Roundtable’s formation.

“We needed a business organization focused on a broader set of issues to help make Tennessee a better place to live and work. Upon its formation, the Roundtable led business support for our Better Schools initiative, and since that time, it has stepped up time and again to provide leadership on improving education, regulation, health, and our judiciary,” said Sen. Alexander. “I’m grateful for all this Roundtable has done, and I wish them success in the years to come.”

Gov. Phil Bredesen noted the Roundtable’s collaboration with his administration on advancing education and healthcare.

“The Roundtable was essential in organizing Tennessee’s business leaders in support of overhauling our K-12 academic standards, implementing aligned assessments to measure student performance, and helping our state win a federal Race to the Top grant,” said Gov. Bredesen. “With its focus on supporting Tennessee’s workforce through improved education and healthcare, the Roundtable has led our state’s private sector in building a strong business climate through advocating for policies which put Tennesseans in position to succeed.”

Additionally, the Roundtable’s membership elected seven executives to serve on its 2024 Board of Directors during its Annual Meeting the following day. Those executive leaders include:

  • Chair-Elect – Dr. Nassar Nassar, President & CEO, Savant Learning Systems (Martin);

  • Secretary – Dakasha Winton, SVP & Chief Govt. Relations Officer, BlueCross BlueShield of TN (Chattanooga);

  • Treasurer – Jim Schmitz, Nashville Market Leader, Elliott Davis LLC (Franklin);

  • General Counsel – Zan Blue, Partner, Constangy Brooks Smith & Prophete, LLP (Brentwood);

  • Regional VP (West TN) – Chris Snow, SVP & CHRO, American Residential Services, LLC (Memphis);

  • Regional VP (Middle TN) – Michael Fann, President & CEO, Public Entity Partners (Franklin); and

  • Regional VP (East TN) – Eddie Jett, CEO, MBI Companies, Inc. (Knoxville).

The 2023 Annual Meeting saw conversations on workforce and energy from Tennessee public sector leaders including:

  • TNECD Commissioner Stuart McWhorter,

  • TN Labor and Workforce Commissioner Deniece Thomas,

  • UT System President Randy Boyd, and

  • TVA SVP of Economic Development John Bradley.



bottom of page